LACROSSE

Coaching Staff

Varsity Head Coach: Alyson Messinger
messingera@cshct.org

JV Head Coach: Rachel Zurheide
zurheider@cshct.org

7/8A Head Coach: Judith Scinto
scintoj@cshct.org

7/8B Head Coach: Charles Petersen
petersenc@cshct.org

7/8B Assistant Coach: Margaret King
kingm@cshct.org

5/6 Green Head Coach: Courtney DePeter
depeterc@cshct.org

5/6 Green Assistant Coach: CJ Mitchell
mitchellcj@cshct.org

5/6 White Head Coach: Sarah Hill
hills@cshct.org

5/6 White Assistant Coach: Silvio Ferraro
ferraros@cshct.org

Highlights

Our student-athletes and teams demonstrated once again that our talent pool is deep and the enthusiasm is high in this sport at Sacred Heart! During the 2019 season we had two Middle School teams post unbeaten seasons (7/8 A and 6th Grade), and it is clear that there is a ton of talent set to move up through the program.

The entire Upper School program traveled to Florida to train at IMG Academy over the second week of spring break, and this truly made a difference for both our teams in terms of their preparedness for the short but busy season. The JV team carried a more robust roster this year, which paid off in their season and made for a great training environment as the team went on to finish 10-4-0.

Our Varsity Lacrosse team came away posting a season record of 18-1-0, going undefeated in the FAA, which garnered them the FAA Regular Season title. After earning the #1 seed in the FAA Tournament, the team went on to win in a dominating fashion, finishing the season as FAA Tournament Champions for the third year in a row. Consensus around the lacrosse community is that our team was one of the best in the country, and it was a true pleasure to watch these student-athletes play throughout the spring!

Facilities

Sacred Heart Greenwich has a 154,800 square foot multi-purpose, synthetic outdoor playing surface, six hard-court tennis court, two natural grass fields, and a three-mile cross-country course.

The lacrosse turf field was resurfaced in 2017 to install a new surface similar to those used at the collegiate and professional levels. The field is woven, not tufted, to create a more natural grass-like surface that plays true to all sports. 

Athletes also have access to our 35,600 square foot athletic center designed for women’s sports which opened in September 2015. The facility includes three National Federation of State High School Associations regulation basketball and volleyball courts, six international singles squash courts, classrooms for health and physical education, a strength and conditioning room, a dance and yoga studio, and a sports medicine center in addition to locker rooms for home and visiting teams, a press box, and administrative offices. 

First page of the PDF file: Untitleddesign